University Committee Meeting Minutes 2021-05-10

University Committee Meeting Minutes

Minutes approved 05/17/2021
UC members present: Halverson, Masters, Papp, Sandgren, Tracy, Wolf (chair)
Others present: Michael Bernard-Donals, Greg Bump, Michelle Felber, Lesley Fisher, Amol Goyal, Todd Milewski, Noel Radomski, Jane Richard, Jake Smith, Bill Tishler, Susan Thibeault

Chair Wolf called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM.

Sandgren moved and it was seconded to co-sign a letter originated from ASEC to UW System regarding the unanswered issues that will be caused by the single pay policy going into effect in July. 

The minutes of the meeting of University Committee Meeting Minutes 2021-05-03 were approved by consent. 

Jack OMeara, PROFS gave a legislative update, chiefly related to the budget negotiations. The language removed from state statute in 2015 regarding shared governance and tenure is being re-introduced. 

On the invitation of Bill Karpus, Dean of the Graduate School, Imogen Hurley, Office of Postdoctoral Studies, outlined their proposal for a standardized paid leave policy for postdocs. UW-Madison is unique in not having a policy. The tentative policy would consist of 4-4.5 weeks per year vacation and 2.5 week per year for sick leave; it would include legal holidays, but not personal holidays. There is good support for the policy, including from the UC.

Karl Scholz, Provost, and Beth Meyerand, Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff Affairs, answered questions about the conflict of commitment policy. 

Pete Miller, chair, Athletic Board, gave an update on his meetings with the Big Ten Conference today. Topics have covered COVID-19 and pending NCAA legislation on name, image and likeness rules for student-athletes.

Tracy moved to convene in closed session; it was seconded and approved at 2:55. 

Tracy moved to go into open session; it was seconded and approved at 3:12. One tenure clock extension was approved.

Chair Wolf adjourned the meeting at 3:28. 

KeywordsUniversity committee   Doc ID111026
OwnerJulie S.GroupUW Secretary of the Faculty
Created2021-05-25 10:07:07Updated2023-07-05 15:41:51
SitesUW Secretary of the Faculty
Feedback  0   0