What is the L&S Academic Planning Council?

The L&S Academic Planning Council advises the Dean on planning, program, and fiscal matters, and plays an important role in College governance activities. The Dean chairs the Council's weekly meetings, where topics that affect the whole college (and often, the rest of the university) are discussed by elected and appointed members. Academic and Administrative Deans serve as ex Officio observers to advise the council. Agendas are prepared by the Associate Dean for Academic Planning, in consultation with the Dean and Academic Associate Deans.

L&S Academic Planning Council

The College of Letters and Science Academic Planning Council is the main governance committee for the college.  It is composed of six members elected from the L&S faculty; two academic staff members elected by the L&S academic staff; and the Dean.  Two faculty members are elected from each of the three major divisions of the College.  One academic staff member is elected from among the instructional staff, and the other is elected from among the research staff.  The Dean, who chairs the council, has also appointed two ex officio members: an appointee from the Classified Staff Issues Committee, and the Chair of the L&S Curriculum Committee.  The L&S Associate Deans and several other members of L&S Administration attend Council meetings to advise the elected members should the need arise. Associate Dean Elaine Klein works with the Dean to coordinate APC business. (The APC Operating Procedures (updated May 2019) provide additional information about how the council is composed and conducts its business.)

The Academic Planning Council members serving in Fall 2018 are:

    Heather Allen, French & Italian (year 3 of 3)
    Cécile Ané, Botany and Statistics (year 1 of 3)
    Seth Blair, Integrative Biology (ex officio, L&S Curriculum Committee Chair)
    Katherine Bowie, Anthropology (year 3 of 3)
    Rebecca Dunn, L&S Administration (Research Academic Staff representative)
    Sarah Jedd, Communication Arts (Instructional Academic Staff representative, ad hoc appointee)
    Daniel Kapust, Political Science (year 3 of 3)
    Ruth Litovsky, Communication Science & Disorders (year 2 of 3)
    Jana Valeo, History (USIC appointee)
    John Karl Scholz (Chair), Dean
        n.b. – ad hoc appointees will also be named to replace Stephen Kantrowitz

APC Elections

Elections to the L&S APC are held in the Spring term, for three-year terms beginning the following Fall. Faculty elections are coordinated by the Associate Dean for Academic Planning, in consultation with the Academic Associate Deans to whom nominations are submitted. Academic Staff elections are coordinated by the L&S  L&S Committee on Academic Staff Issues (CASI), or CASI. The L&S L&S University Staff Issues Committee (USIC) , or USIC, nominates a member to serve as the liaison to the APC.

See Also:

Keywords:Governance, APC, FP&P 3.08, Reports, Program Review, Strategic Planning   Doc ID:19956
Owner:Elaine K.Group:College of Letters & Science
Created:2011-08-24 13:33 CDTUpdated:2019-05-09 14:01 CDT
Sites:College of Letters & Science
Feedback:  4   3