Topics Map > Administration & Governance

L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEIC)

This page contains information about the L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee, including members, goals, helpful material, and contacts. The L&S DEI Committee is formerly known as the L&S Equity & Diversity Committee.
What is the L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEIC)?: 
The L&S Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee strives to understand and report on the experiences of students, staff and faculty of color, those from historically underrepresented groups, first-generation students and low-income students. The goal: create a welcoming environment for all.

DEIC Resources/Materials: 

  • L&S Departmental Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Leads
    • Contact information for equity and diversity liaisons or staff for departments and units within L&S. You may use this list to reach out to other L&S departments for discussions, idea sharing, or collaborations for DEI efforts! 
    • Departmental DEI Contacts (last updated September 2023)
  • L&S DEI Resource Hub
    • This is a clearinghouse of diversity, equity, and inclusion resources, materials, and best practices. The resources align with the College of Letters and Science Diversity, Equity and Inclusion priorities, which are: infrastructure, belonging, teaching/learning, research, faculty recruitment/retention, staff recruitment/retention, graduate student recruitment/retention and undergraduate recruitment/retention. The hub is a living place that is continuously updated with relevant local, state and national information for DEI leads, chairs, and influencers within departments, centers, institutes, and units within L&S.
  • L&S DEI Priorities 

Committee Members (Current as of September 2023)

Committee Members
Name Department Division Title Category
DeVon Wilson (Co-Chair) L&S Admin Administration Associate Dean for DEI Academic Staff
Lori Lopez (Co-Chair) Communication Arts Social Sciences Professor Faculty
Eric Wilcots L&S Admin Administration Dean Faculty
Erika Marin-Spiotta Geography Social Sciences Professor Faculty
Faye Lux Political Science Social Sciences Department Admin Academic Staff
Heather Sauer Astronomy Natural & Physical Sciences Student Coordinator University Staff
Jeff Henriques Psychology Social Sciences Distinguished Lecturer Academic Staff
Jennifer Hekman Asian Languages and Cultures Social Sciences Department Admin Academic Staff
Jose J. Madera Student Academic Affairs Administration Assistant Dean Academic Staff
Kristin Eschenfelder CDIS CDIS Associate Dean Faculty
Lea Aune-Johnson L&S Admin  Administration  HR Director Academic Staff
Lucas Zoet Geoscience Social Sciences Assistant Professor Faculty
Michael Bernard-Donals English  Humanities Professor Faculty 
Michael Swift Computer Sciences CDIS Professor Faculty
Scott Carter L&S Admin Administration Department Relations Specialist Academic Staff
Alex Villa Graduate Student Geoscience AOF/CGRS Project Assistant Student
Mel Freitag L&S Admin Administration  Assistant Dean for DEI

Academic Staff

Kate Krueger Teaching and Learning Administration  Academic Data Analyst

Academic Staff 

Amari Mbongwo Undergraduate Student School of Journalism Undergraduate DEI intern



Keywordsequity, diversity, inclusion, diversity report, edc, dei   Doc ID28136
OwnerMel F.GroupL&S KB
Created2013-01-15 16:04:38Updated2023-09-29 11:18:06
SitesL&S KB
Feedback  3   0