Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2014-2015 > 01. July

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 07-17-14

Approved 7/31/14

ASEC Minutes

2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, July 17, 2014

67 Bascom Hall


Members Present: Marwa Bassiouni; Trish Iaccarino; Sarah Kuba; Heather McFadden, Chair; Michael Moscicke; Robert Newsom; Kevin Niemi, Vice-Chair

Guests:  Jake Smith, Brian Vaughan

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m.

The minutes of July 10, 2014, were approved.

Guest: Brian Vaughan, Legal Services (Professional Development Session)

Brian Vaughan discussed Wisconsin State Statutes Chapter 36 and Wisconsin Administrative Code as it applies to academic staff shared governance. Topics covered included the evolution of academic staff shared governance and the delegation doctrine.

Guest: Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff (Professional Development Session)

Heather Daniels provided an overview of Academic Staff Policies and Procedures (ASPP) to ASEC. She pointed out sections of ASPP that are frequently needed for reference.

Convened in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to appoint members to the Information Technology Committee (Moved. Seconded. Approved)

Motion to appoint Michael Pflieger to the Information Technology Committee. (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)

Reconvened in Open Session (Moved. Seconded. Approved.)


·     Assembly communications

Heather D. distributed a list of districts and their emails and Assembly attendance. The Secretary’s office will begin sending out agendas to all academic staff. The Secretary will supply ASEC with a list of any continuing representatives who did not send any emails and did not attend any Assembly meetings.

·     Limited appointments participation in governance (continued)

Postponed to the next meeting.

·      Retreat planning

Jake Smith will act as the facilitator for the retreat.

·     Next ASEC Meeting, July 31, 2014

-          Professional Development Presentation: Darrell Bazzell

-          Retreat Planning/Survey Results

-          Shared Governance Letter

-          Guests: Paul DeLuca, Nancy Lynch, Bob Mathieu, and Julie Underwood 

Meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m. 

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff 

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID42465
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2014-08-04 16:51:55Updated2014-08-05 09:37:25
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0