Topics Map > Academic Staff Assembly > 2017-2018 > 5. February

Academic Staff Assembly Minutes 02-12-18

Approved 3-12-18

272 Bascom Hall
Monday, February 12, 2018
3:30 to 5:00 p.m.

Provost Sarah Mangelsdorf called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.  

Memorial Resolution for Liz Beyler Kraak
John Lucas read the memorial resolution for Liz Beyler Kraak.

Automatic Consent
The Academic Staff Assembly minutes of Monday, December 11, 2017, were approved.  

Guest: Amy Fruchtman, Madison Academic Staff Network
Amy Fruchtman shared information about the Madison Academic Staff Network.  The objectives of the organization include connecting academic staff to one another; exploring new ways to engage with academic staff and UW-Madison; promoting the impact of academic staff; promoting a diverse and inclusive environment for all academic staff and learning how governance affects academic staff.  The Assembly received a list of spring events.

Guest: Laurent Heller, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration
Vice Chancellor Heller shared information about the financial side of UW-Madison.  Current challenges include declining academic rankings, largely due to declines in ranking of financial resources and faculty compensation, and falling out of the top 5 for the NSF Higher Education Research and Development survey (HERD) ranking for the first time since its inception.  UW-Madison has a strong balance sheet, robust private sector support, and is disciplined on expenses.  Revenue growth has declined and the lack of growth is not sustainable.  

Revenue growth has improved in the past couple of years.  The primary reasons for this growth are expansion of the summer semester, new degree programs for professionals, and market driven tuition for non-residential undergraduate students and professional students.  The institution’s investment priorities include improving student access, maintaining/growing faculty excellence, enhancing research enterprise, and infrastructure.  

Kevin Niemi, ASEC chair, reminded the Assembly about registering for the 2018 Academic Staff Institute. ASI will take place on March 15, 2018.  In addition, the spring cycle for Academic Staff Professional Development Grants is open.  The deadline for online applications is March 16, 2018.  

Kevin mentioned that ASEC recently reviewed the data for ethnicity and gender for the 2017 promotional exercise.  Females had the higher promotional rate and minority males had the lowest promotional rate.

Sharon Kahn, co-chair of the Nominating Committee, read the names on the ASEC election slate.  They were Donna Cole, Aaron Crandall, Tim Dalby, Leslie Petty, Jim Rogers, Debra Shapiro and Lindsey Stoddard Cameron.

Resolution to Support the Realignment of UW-Extension Cooperative Extension
Discussion resumed on this resolution, which was postponed from the November Assembly meeting.  Bill Tishler (District #467) moved to postpone consideration of the resolution until the May Academic Staff Assembly meeting.  Seconded.  Motion Approved.

Nominating Committee Slate
Lindsey Stoddard Cameron (ASEC) read the names on the Nominating Committee slate.  They were Rebecca Beebe, Arturo Diaz, Sharon Kahn, Nichole Monzon, and Alison Rice.  No nominations were added from the floor.

Standing Committee Slates
Sharon Kahn, co-chair of the Nominating Committee, read the names on the remaining Standing Committee slates.  For the Communications Committee, those running include Linda Endlich, Jennifer Farley, Jennifer Garrett, and Ashley Voss.  For the Compensation and Economic Benefits Committee, those running include Steven Anderson, Catherine Auger, Mark Coatsworth, Kevin Karbowski, Dagna Sheerar, and Elizabeth Tuschen.  For the Districting and Representation Committee, those running include Ian Benton, Max Coller and David Toland.  For the Mentoring Committee, those running include Ellie Feitlinger, Michelle Holland, Chris Logterman, and Teri Stratton.  For the Personnel Policies and Procedures Committee, those running include Pam Garcia-Rivera, Anita Herrick, Shirin Malekpour, and Jonathan Thom.  For the Professional Development and Recognition Committee, those running include Adam Huffman, Mary Lewitzke, Ken Niemeyer, Mary Russell, and Brad Schantz.  No nominations were added to any of the slates from the floor.

Resolution Regarding Title and Total Compensation Study Families, Sub-families, Careers and Levels
Jenny Dahlberg (ASEC) moved the Academic Staff Assembly approve this resolution.  Seconded.  Motion Approved.

Resolution on Board of Regents Action Regarding Regent Policy Document on Commitment to Academic Freedom and Freedom of Expression
Jim Rogers (ASEC) moved the Academic Staff Assembly approve this resolution.  Seconded.  Motion Approved.

Adjourned at 4:58 pm.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASA Minutes   Doc ID80950
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2018-03-15 15:57:34Updated2020-07-13 15:06:48
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0