Topics Map > Campus Services > Office 365

Office 365 (Thunderbird) - Delete a message

Delete messages you no longer need or want to see in your Inbox or any other mail folder.

Delete a message using any one of the following actions:

  • In the message list, right-click on the message and select Delete

    Delete message sub-menu selection

  • In the preview pane, click Delete

    delete button

  • If the message is open in its own window, click Delete

    delete button

When a message is deleted, it's moved to the Deleted Items or Trash folder (depending on how your client is configured).

If you want to bypass the Deleted Items or Trash and permanently delete a message, press Shift+Delete. You won't have an opportunity to change your mind later and recover the message.

Wait! I changed my mind

If the message you want to keep is still in the Deleted Items or Trash folder, drag the message from the Deleted Items or Trash folder to another folder.

There's an exception for some Office 365/Microsoft Exchange Server accounts. Please see recovering deleted message document for further details.

See Also:




Keywords:microsoft office365 o365 mozzila delete email message thunderbird trash deleted items folder trash   Doc ID:39448
Owner:Help Desk KB Team .Group:DoIT Help Desk
Created:2014-04-23 14:52 CDTUpdated:2021-10-07 14:44 CDT
Sites:DoIT Help Desk
Feedback:  0   0