Disclaimer: This news item was originally posted on Thursday, May 3, 2001. Its content may no longer be timely or accurate.

Meeting Maker Upgrade - 5/05 (9 am - 3 pm)

Posted: 01:50:48, Thursday, May 3, 2001   Expiration: 01:50:48, Thursday, May 3, 2001  

The Meeting Maker server software will be upgraded from v6.06 to v7 on Saturday, May 5th (estimated time 9am-3pm). The regularly scheduled monthly calendar purge will also take place.

The Meeting Maker server software will be upgraded from v6.06 to v7 on Saturday, May 5th (estimated time 9am-3pm). The regularly scheduled monthly calendar purge will also take place. The clients will auto-upgrade to v7 when users log in after the server upgrade.

Why upgrade to version 7?

Visit the following website for details: www.meetingmaker.com/news/realtime/2001/rt20010307.cfm

Steps to take

  1. LOG OUT OF THE MEETING MAKER SERVER BEFORE LEAVING FOR THE WEEKEND!
  2. Please close out of your Meeting Maker client prior to leaving for the weekend.

  3. WHAT TO EXPECT WHEN YOU LOG BACK ON MONDAY MORNING
  4. We will be using the "auto-upgrade function" to push the new version 7 client to your desktop.

    The first time you sign-in to the meetingmaker version 7 server after upgrading, your calendar data will be downloaded from the meetingmaker server to your meetingmaker client. Depending on the amount of calendar data, this download can take several minutes. During the download, meetingmaker displays an animated logo which disappears when the download is complete.

  5. PREFERENCE SETTINGS
  6. Some preference settings are stored on the local workstation, rather than associated with a specific user account. After an upgrade, these locally-stored preferences are reset to the system default values.

    For a comprehensive list of preference settings that are stored locally, open the "Preferences" dialog box in the meetingmaker client. To do this, from the Edit menu, select Preferences. At the bottom of each tab in the Preferences dialog, a note indicates which preferences are in effect for this workstation only. Below is a brief list of preferences that are reset to their default values after an upgrade:

    • Notification preferences for proposals and activities are reset to 15 minutes.
    • To re-enter these preferences, click the Notification tab in the Preferences dialog box.

    • Sign In Automatically setting is cleared.
    • To re-enable, click the Login tab in the Preferences dialog box.

    • Local SMTP Host setting is cleared.
    • To re-enter, click the General tab in the Preferences dialog box.

    • Calendar display preferences for the Daily Calendar, Monthly Calendar, and banners are reset to system defaults.
    • To re-enter these preferences, click the Calendar tab in the Preferences dialog box.

-- Judy Brickner

Created: 01:50:48, Thursday, May 3, 2001 (by Weizhong W.)
Updated: 01:50:48, Thursday, May 3, 2001 (by Weizhong W.)