Google Groups settings to be merged or removed
Posted: 2019-04-17 16:45:36 Expiration: 2020-04-24 16:45:36
Effective May 2019, the Settings section of Google Groups will be changing to make it easier to manage groups. Settings with similar functionality will be combined. And some settings that are rarely used will be removed. The following changes may affect existing groups and newly created groups...
Member management settings—Settings for adding, approving, and inviting users to groups are being merged into a single setting for member managers.
Content moderator settings—Settings for approving posts, deleting posts, and locking topics are being merged into a single setting for content moderators.
Content metadata settings—Settings for adding and changing tags and other metadata are being merged into a single setting for metadata moderators.
Rarely used settings—Some rarely used settings are going away.
What you need to do
Verify that people who manage members or content have the right permissions:
For users who manage members—Make sure users who need to manage members have permission to manage all the membership settings being combined. The member moderator setting will be turned off for users who don't have permission to manage all the settings. Learn more about the new setting for member moderators.
For users who moderate content—Make sure users who need to moderate content have permission to manage all the content settings being combined. The content moderator setting will be turned off for users who don't have permission to manage all the settings. Learn more about the new setting for content moderators.
For users who moderate metadata—Make sure users who need to moderate content metadata have permission to manage at least one of the metadata settings being combined. Learn more about the new setting for assistant content moderators.
If you do nothing
Settings for your groups will be updated to match the new controls. Also, users' permissions might change, depending on their current settings. As a result, some users might gain or lose permissions unexpectedly.
-- UW Google Apps: Christina Gomez