Disclaimer: This news item was originally posted on Thursday, Dec 3, 2020. Its content may no longer be timely or accurate.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - New Recording Archival Process in Effect 12/02/20

Posted: 14:12:06, Thursday, Dec 3, 2020   Expiration: 14:12:06, Sunday, Mar 28, 2021  

The University of Wisconsin System (including UW-Madison) has adopted a new media management process governing how long Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (BBCU) recordings are kept on Blackboard servers. This news item contains more details about the process, including important timelines.

This archive effort is part of a new media management process that the University of Wisconsin System implemented to address dramatic increases in the volume of recordings and strict vendor limits on allocated storage. For details, please refer to this UW System documentation.

To summarize, BBCU recordings set to allow public access (the default setting) will be copied to Kaltura MediaSpace within 24 hours and then deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation. (Recordings set to not allow public access will not be copied to Kaltura MediaSpace and but will still be deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation.)

If you are enrolled in a Canvas course in an instructor role, you will be granted Co-Editor and Co-Publisher rights to any archived course-related BBCU recordings in Kaltura MediaSpace. These recordings will be owned by a separate account created specifically for that media. So keep in mind that in Kaltura MediaSpace you will see recordings created by other instructors in the course. For the time being this media cannot be deleted from your Kaltura "My Media." However, UW-Madison is working to implement two new Kaltura tools in Canvas that will allow instructors to manage BBC recordings and better control what they see in their Kaltura "My Media." These tools are expected to be in place during the beginning of the spring 2021 semester.

Users can recover a deleted BBCU recording by submitting a ticket to Blackboard Collaborate Support within 30 days of the deletion. 

If you have questions about this process, please contact the DoIT Help Desk.

-- Learn@UW-Madison

Created: 08:28:36, Tuesday, Dec 1, 2020 (by Kristy B.)
Updated: 10:13:10, Friday, Jan 22, 2021 (by Kristy B.)