Topics Map > OS and Desktop Applications > Operating Systems > Mac OS X

Mac OS X (10.9) - Changing System Language

This document describes how to change the operating system language on Mac OS 10.9 (Mavericks).


On the initial start of Mac OS 10.9, the operating system will prompt for a default system language. If this initial option needs to be changed later on, it can be done so through the system preferences application.

    Change System Language:

    1. Click on the Apple Menu on the top left of the screen. Then click on System Preferences.

    2. Once in System Preferences, click on Language and Region. This can be found on the top row of the System Preferences window.

    3. Once in Language and Region, add a new language by clicking on the + icon.

    4. Pick the desired language from the populated list and click Add. Only the following languages are fully supported: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Portuguese (European), Russian, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish.

    5. After pressing Add, a prompt asking which language to use will populate your screen. Choose the new language simply by clicking on it.

    6. Restart the Mac OS 10.9 machine for the language change to take place. This can be done by clicking on the Apple Menu and then Restart.

    KeywordsLanguage Change Mac OS 10.9 Mavericks macintosh english Persian China   Doc ID43834
    OwnerHelp Desk KB TeamGroupDoIT Help Desk
    Created2014-10-05 15:29:32Updated2023-08-30 11:05:42
    SitesDoIT Help Desk
    Feedback  107   56