Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2016-2017 > 07. January

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 01-05-17

Approved 1-19-17
ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Thursday, January 5, 2017
53 Bascom Hall

Members Present:  Bruno Browning; Aaron Crandall; Jenny Dahlberg; Sarah Kuba; Michael Moscicke; Mallory Musolf; Robert Newsom; Kevin Niemi, Chair; Deb Shapiro

Guests: Sarah Mangelsdorf, Jake Smith

The meeting was called to order at 2:03 p.m.

The minutes of December 22, 2016, were approved.

General Reports
Chair Kevin Niemi asked whether ASEC wanted to invite Isabelle Girard (research cores), Matt Kussow (Badger Advocates) and Mary Carbine (Alumni Park) to meet with ASEC.  ASEC would like to meet with all three.  Heather will also work on scheduling meetings with Mary Luther and Wayne Guthrie.  Kevin is continuing to work on a schedule for spring chairs chats.  
Secretary of the Academic Staff Heather Daniels reviewed the guests scheduled so far for ASEC’s spring meetings including Linda Scott (Dean of Nursing), Marsha Mailick (Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education), and Laurent Heller (Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration).

Guest: Sarah Mangelsdorf, Provost
ASEC discussed possible changes regarding the pie chart on page 12 of the booklet.  ASEC will bring a final version of their suggested changes to the next meeting with the Provost.  ASEC also shared concerns regarding SMPH and performance evaluation tracking and how this intersected with requirements for the Discretionary Compensation Fund and Performance Bonus Fund.  
UW System has decided to go with system-wide metrics that would be used if necessary as part of an additional budget allocation to UW System.  The committee that would look at creating gender-neutral bathrooms is on hold.  Bathrooms may be added to Helen C. White in the next year, which could include gender neutral bathrooms.

Motion to Convene in Closed Session Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 19.85(1)(c), and (f) to discuss appointment to the Professional Development and Recognition Committee (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.

Motion to Convene in Open Session (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.


•    Approve Appointment
Motion to appoint Jim Lacy to the Professional Development and Recognition Committee (Dahlberg). Seconded. Approved.  
•    Nominating Committee Slate
ASEC identified additional people to ask about their interest in serving on the Nominating Committee.
•    Campus Carry Petition
ASEC reviewed the draft email.  Heather will send out the email with a link to the petition next week.
•    Page 12 of Budget in Brief
ASEC reviewed a revised pie chart that was prepared by Michael Moscicke.  ASEC will review the revised chart at their next meeting and plan to send out suggested changes to those charged with this portion of the booklet.
•    Topics for the Provost
Updates on SMPH and Titling and Total Compensation Advisory Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID70277
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2017-01-30 10:20:45Updated2020-07-13 14:12:32
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0