Topics Map > Academic Staff Executive Committee (ASEC) > 2019-2020 > 03. September

Academic Staff Executive Committee Minutes 09-05-19

Approved 9/19/19

ASEC Minutes
2:00 – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, September 5, 2019
53 Bascom Hall

Members Present: Donna Cole; Jenny Dahlberg, chair; Tim Dalby; Stephanie Elkins; Mallory Musolf; Leslie Petty; Lindsey Stoddard Cameron; Bill Tishler

Guests: Allison Bender, Suzanne Broadberry, Megan Dzyuba, Steve Hahn, Ron Harris, Liz Jesse, Helena Manning, Jennifer Mitchell, Brooke Norsted, Adrienne Rich, Jeff Russell, Karl Scholz, Hope Simon, Matt Stillwell, Tom Zinnen

The meeting was called to order at 2:01 p.m.

The minutes of August 29, 2019 were approved.

General Reports
Jenny Dahlberg, ASEC chair, reported that Alissa Ewer and David Hart were selected for the VCRGE search and screen committee.

Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff, reported she met with Paul Seitz and Scott Hildebrandt from the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration office about a new program that are starting called a rotation program. It is common in the private sector. It provides early career or new career employees with the chance to rotate through several administrative offices at UW-Madison with the goal of them becoming permanent UW-Madison employees with some cross training. They plan to launch the program in January, and Heather suggested they vist ASEC to share more information.

Liaison Reports
Stephanie Elkins reported that she attended the Communications Committee. They have been working on revising the responsibilities in ASPP.

Guest: Karl Scholz, Provost
Karl Scholz asked ASEC to provide him with information on things that are not working. In regards to new initiatives, he plans to bring them to ASEC for discussion. He tends to do some work in developing and formulating things before engaging with governance on something new. He looks forward to working with ASEC and other governance bodies on campus.

Guest: Steve Hahn, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management
Enrollment management consists of undergraduate admissions/recruitment, financial aid, registrar’s office, student information system and credit hub. For freshman class enrollment, they need to enroll 3,600 Wisconsin residents as full-time freshman each year. They have done this for the past five years. This year they enrolled approximately 3,795 Wisconsin residents. They will enroll 600-700 Minnesota students plus international students and US non-resident students to make up the total class. This year, they were hoping to have 7,100-7,200 and they enrolled 7,550. This is the largest freshman class ever and the most numerically diverse. The increase comes largely from non-residents where their yield increased by 3 percent. 

They receive approximately 44,000 applications a year. Every application is read twice by two different people on the admissions team before an admissions decision is made. In addition to the freshman class, each year they admit approximately 900 transfer students. 

The things he is looking at in the coming year include enrollment; increasing Pell-eligible students, transfer pathways, and preparing for the cloud for information systems. 

Guests: Jeff Russell and Hope Simon, Division of Continuing Studies (Youth Protection Policy)
Jeff Russell and Hope Simon listened to many of the guests assembled regarding issues with the Youth Protection Policy. These were questions about risk versus requirements, communication of policies, and a lack of clear guidance on what is needed/required for youth programs. Hope and Jeff expressed appreciation for the comments and offered to meet further to discuss issues around communication, etc. ASEC will discuss the next steps at a future meeting.

Childcare Scholarship for Academic Staff
ASEC asked Heather to email Teri Stratton and tell her ASEC is interested in fundraising towards a scholarship.
TTC Titles Discussion
ASEC agreed to further discuss this issue at its next meeting. 
Topics for Provost
Youth Protection Policy

Meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Heather Daniels, Secretary of the Academic Staff

KeywordsASEC Minutes   Doc ID94598
OwnerLesley F.GroupThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Created2019-09-20 14:58:39Updated2020-07-13 11:16:16
SitesThe Office of the Secretary/ Academic Staff
Feedback  0   0